February Scion Exchange & Parking notice

STAR education, which kindly grants us the use of their facilities for our meetings, is hosting its own large event this Saturday.  We will be there also, but parking will be more of a challenge than usual.  Please be patient and polite.

As we begin the countdown to our annual scion exchange, check out the CRFG Golden Gate Chapter’s amazing website about theirs.

http://www.crfg.org/chapters/golden_gate/scionex.htm

It includes critical inf on how to prepare scion wood as you go about your winter pruning;   and how to determine the appropriate scion wood  to seek from others.

As a corollary to this,  we have a forum page entitled Scion, Rootstock and Plant Exchange where some members have begun posting what they will have to offer come February and also what they would most love to find on the scion table.   Since the poor little forum has been mostly neglected, I am also going to copy the posts here as Comments.  Please feel free to add your own comments, desires and potential prunings either here or in the Forum.  If you are having any trouble getting approval to do so, just contact me under the contacts tab above (I’m Ronni the Webmaster).  The Spam Filter is occasionally over zealous.

This entry was posted in Grafting, plants. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to February Scion Exchange & Parking notice

  1. From Glen Woodmansee:
    “Lady Williams” apple: anyone have cuttings?
    http://adamapples.blogspot.com/2009/05/pink-lady-cripps-pink.html
    “Pink Lady” is actually a brand name for the Cripps Pink variety, a cross of Golden Delicious and Lady Williams, from Western Australia .
    Kevin Hauser, June 17, 2009, says: I’ve grown to like one of the parents of Cripp’s Pink, Lady Williams. It has a dense, sugary sweet-tart flesh, and is red with a characteristic verticle white stripe on one side of the apple. It ripens mid-February here in Southern California .

    http://www.cloudforest.com/wiki/Lady_Williams

    Jun 2011

    I have Lady Williams growing here in Santa Cruz . It blooms late, and ripens in February. It’s truly delicious and loves our long growing season. I highly recommend this apple to anyone in California ; it should do well pretty much everywhere, even coastal Southern California starting near Ventura . It might struggle a bit in the mildest coastal zones of San Diego , but even there, it might do alright.
    Flavor and tasting notes: The yellow flesh is very firm, crisp and juicy with an excellent sugar-acid balance. Tart if picked too early but mellows to perfection if left on the tree until February. Stores better if picked before leaf fall.
    Sounds interesting! –Glen

  2. I have a Robada apricot which much to my astonishment and despite its high-chill rep, did astonishingly well for me in Santa Monica on 20th Street, or about 1.5 miles from the ocean. I will be pruning that, a Flavor Delight aprium, a Red Baron peach, and an Arctic Star white nectarine. These all bore well this past year or about 15-18 months after planting. Since they are still settling in, I can’t vouch for the relative deliciousness… especially re the peach and nectarine which were totally stripped by the squirrels.

    I also have a Granny Smith apple but am not too thrilled with it so far and am looking for scionwood from Flordahome pear specifically, as well as any other pears and apples that are doing well for you.

    • From JBClem: I would very much like to have some Robada apricot scionwood when you prune your tree. I have two older apricot trees that could use some new blood. I’m also interested to know exactly how you prune your apricot tree(s), it’s not very obvious to me when I look at these two trees of mine. I have a very young Flordahome pear tree, and I don’t think it has enough branches yet to want pruning…but if I do find something to trim, you can have the wood.

  3. jbclem says:

    I seem to have been dropped from the mailing list so I’m not sure when the Jan meeting is (has it passed?). I usually can’t get there before 11am, and since the move(20 minutes further away) I’ve missed all the meetings I’ve known about. So a discussion afterwards would be best for me.

    I’m keeping an eye out for Floridahome scionwood, but so far none of the websites (that sell scionwood) have that variety. There are some scion exchange forums where you could also look (Yahoo Groups, and Cloudforest Cafe are the ones I’m familiar with).

    About Granny Smith, from what I read, the fruit doesn’t get sweet until Jan or Feb. The ones sold in markets must be picked in the fall since they are usually on the sour/tart side.

    John

    • John, I’m mystified about your being dropped from the mailing list. I’ll check with Margaret/Hal. But if you check out the Next Meetings heading on this site, you’ll see you’re in luck because January’s meeting… next Saturday… has been moved to 2 in the afternoon and is at Bruce’s house in BH. I don’t know if the location is easier or harder for you but in any event I’m hoping the time is better. Per Bruce, we will be talking about pruning so you can definitely bring up your apricots.

      The scion exchange is Feb 9 and will be — so far anyway — at the usual time of 10.

    • Also, thanks for the efforts on behalf of my poor snapped-off pear branch. I did contact Nick Botner who is famous for his heritage fruit trees but whose farm is on the market right now so no one seems to know if he’ll actually be selling scionwood this winter.
      I’m going to check out the LA Chapter’s scion exchange this Saturday (10 am) also to see if anyone brings some.

Leave a Reply

